BMW ICOM NEXT | BMW NBT EVO FSC Codes | BMW NBT & CIC FSC Codes | BMW Rheingold , ISTA/P, KSD, ETK remote installation | BMW STANDARD TOOLS remote installation | BMW ESYS remote installation
Go Back   BMW forum. Diagnostics, coding, programming, repair BMW vehicles. > BMWelcome > BMW coding and programming

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-09-2018, 07:38 PM

Car: 335i
Default Cannot get connection to car

Guys,

I am new to this, but an IT professional. I have been working on getting this working for a week or two and have been digging through forums the whole time. I have not been able to find any straight up current guide, most the posts are 5 to 7 years old and I am not sure if they are even valid. I am trying to recode my car from lead to a solid state battery, and start playing around with other coding, and possibly reflashing the transmission. The car is a 09 e92 335.

I have tried running Mikes BMW install which has the BMW Coding tool, INPA, NCS Dummy and Expert, WinFKP and Tool32. All the software will load. I also have the cable. I plugged the cable into my laptop, Windows 10, it automatically installs the drivers found on the FTDI website, the 2.12.28 set. I have set the COM port to 1 and the latency to 1 also.

When I try to interface the PC with the car though I get the following errors when testing connectivity.
INPA I get IFH-0009 No response from CONTROLUNIT.
Tool32 when trying to load MDS80 I get SYS-0010: Initialization ERROR

At this point I was thinking the cable was bad but did one last step trying to troubleshoot the cable, I hooked my phone with Carly free version, up to the cable and tried to connect over USB. Well this worked and it create a connection.

At this point I am not sure if the software suite is bad, the install order was not correct or there is something I am missing. Anyone will to give me a hand to get this sorted as I am beyond frustrated.

Cheers!!

Last edited by Klever; 02-09-2018 at 08:22 PM.