BMW ICOM NEXT | BMW NBT EVO FSC Codes | BMW NBT & CIC FSC Codes | BMW Rheingold , ISTA/P, KSD, ETK remote installation | BMW STANDARD TOOLS remote installation | BMW ESYS remote installation
Go Back   BMW forum. Diagnostics, coding, programming, repair BMW vehicles. > BMWelcome > BMW coding and programming

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-23-2013, 01:22 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: OH
Car: 525it
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default E39 auto to manual swap coding info needed

I have a 2001 525i touring I'm in need of some help with. It started life with a steptronic trans and I have put a 5 speed behind it. All the mechanical work is done, driveshaft, linkage, pedals, diff, etc.

At this point, I need to get the car to crank! Ha. I had a guy come over and we messed with it for a bit over a few occasions but his gt1 setup was a little unreliable and we were always short on time.

Fast forward another month or so and I finally picked up a reliable gt1 setup that has a few versions including progman, etc.

Now, from my understanding, I need to extract 3 numbers out of my car? We did this once before and they were misplaced...the gm, sa and vn? Is this correct?

Is it as simple as finding those numbers and finding the right source to change them?

Now, I don't mean "simple" but is this the only thing preventing everything from communicating and thus cranking?


Any help would be great. I apologize for not doing lots of research before hand. I have done it but lost the threads. I am
At work and simply need to get this stuff down and get moving. I'm tired of having to walk past the car all the time and I'm ready to drive it!


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-23-2013, 11:48 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: OH
Car: 525it
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok, little update...

After working on mercedes all day, I drove the E46 home to take a look at the E39.

With the fully charged battery and charger hooked up, I fired up the computer and tried Gt1 V44. After a little digging, I found what I was looking for...



Ok, now this is where I am stuck and need some help with the "check sum" etc.

Any help, please reply, PM me or shoot me an email at [Only for registered users... ]

Thanks guys!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-25-2013, 12:54 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: OH
Car: 525it
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Anyone out there? I have gathered I need to edit a hexadecimal/check sum digit acceded via Ncs expert. I'll look into this later today when I get back to the house.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-22-2013, 01:42 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: zoo jersey
Car: 2000 BMW 540
Posts: 6
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'll dig in my computer to find the program I used to change those numbers.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-08-2013, 03:53 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: OH
Car: 525it
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks guys! I got it started a couple days ago...tapping into the dme, EWS, power/ground. I'm making it look nice and tight before I put everything back together. Don't want to have to be in there again unless "I" want to be!

As far as the coding goes, from my understanding, I thought the car or will be kind if sluggish? Is that correct?

When I cranked it, I hit the gas a few times and it felt peppy. Now, this didn't have a load but still...it felt like it was alive and ready to go.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-27-2014, 09:20 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Jersey
Car: 530iT
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm gonna dig this thread up because I am in the same situation.
How did you end up recoding the modules?
My car is currently running and driving fine but I need to recode the dsc and cluster still.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-27-2014, 09:56 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ireland
Car: E38 740i
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by R.Young View Post
I'm gonna dig this thread up because I am in the same situation.
How did you end up recoding the modules?
My car is currently running and driving fine but I need to recode the dsc and cluster still.
What change to the coding do u require?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-28-2014, 02:41 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Jersey
Car: 530iT
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BMWcare View Post
What change to the coding do u require?
I need to code the dsc module and the cluster to manual vehicle. I don't want to re code the whole car because it's a touring with a m54 motor swap and manual swap which never actually existed in the U.S. So if I coded to a 530 manual it would be a sedan which would then cause rear hatch and SLS issues.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISTA/P coding DDE7 from auto to manual conversion 120dmsport BMW ISIS, ICOM A+B+C, Esys 2 02-08-2013 04:36 PM
E38 Coding needed oldmaddog BMW GT1, OPS/OPPS, INPA 1 10-13-2012 05:44 PM
BMW e46 Auto to Manual Transmission Swap mikerob97 BMW diagnostics and repair 6 04-02-2012 03:04 AM
Engine Swap Coding gogo911 BMW coding and programming 1 03-14-2012 01:47 AM
CAS 2 / 3 auto gear to manual LOISICAR BMW GT1, OPS/OPPS, INPA 3 07-10-2011 02:29 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
BMW forum: diagnostics, coding, programming.