BMW ICOM NEXT | BMW NBT EVO FSC Codes | BMW NBT & CIC FSC Codes | BMW Rheingold , ISTA/P, KSD, ETK remote installation | BMW STANDARD TOOLS remote installation | BMW ESYS remote installation
Go Back   BMW forum. Diagnostics, coding, programming, repair BMW vehicles. > BMWelcome > BMW coding and programming

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-18-2012, 04:04 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Orlando, FL
Car: 2002 325i Sedan
Posts: 7
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Need Help Coding a Used DSC Unit to a Different Car

I have the dreaded three lights of death for my ABS/DSC unit. I bought a cable and struggled through using all the various BMW software (carsoft, etc.) to diagnose it. I am pretty sure that my unit is toast given the code. Plus, the lights come on and off for a time period but now stay on permanently.

Below is a screen shot with the error code and part number. As I understand it, if I find a used unit with the same part number, I can swap the units if I recode the used one to my car. I am completely lost, however, on how to recode it. Before I drop money on another unit, I want to have the steps down.

I would really appreciate help from someone with experience. Perhaps someone can point me in the the right direction. My girlfriend needs ABS, so she doesn't hot people. Thanks in advance!



Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-19-2012, 01:00 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: JAMAICA/ CANADA
Car: E46
Posts: 3
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yes you can swap it out with one from a car of the same year,the only problem you might have is to get it recoded to your car. any bmw dealer can reprogrm it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-19-2012, 04:50 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Orlando, FL
Car: 2002 325i Sedan
Posts: 7
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I know that. I also know that the right DIY software can do it as well. I was curious to find someone who can help walk me through it. It's Christmas time; share the knowledge!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-11-2014, 05:29 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Mohave Valley AZ
Car: e38, e39
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

did you have any luck?
i need to recode my e38 DSC i have the software winkfp ncs just not sure of the procedure
Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to do new programming for new CCC unit and monitor DHLee BMW coding and programming 0 09-24-2012 11:35 AM
E90 CCC unit keeps rebooting karbidas BMW coding and programming 0 05-29-2012 02:22 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
BMW forum: diagnostics, coding, programming.