BMW ICOM NEXT | BMW NBT EVO FSC Codes | BMW NBT & CIC FSC Codes | BMW Rheingold , ISTA/P, KSD, ETK remote installation | BMW STANDARD TOOLS remote installation | BMW ESYS remote installation
Go Back   BMW forum. Diagnostics, coding, programming, repair BMW vehicles. > BMWelcome > BMW coding and programming

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-12-2019, 07:00 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Vancouver, WA
Car: 750i
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default SRS box swap out question, '02 E39

Do I need to do some sort of SN write when changing out my SRS control
box? I need to swap mine out as a test and recall, vaguely, seeing something
about having to write the SN to the IKE? so that it will see the box? If so, what
is this process called?

I've traced my occupancy seat signal implausible fault code to the box, meaning
that the signal goes from the seat to the SRS box, but I still get the error. It's
the only error in the SRS module. I've taken the box apart to look at the input
terminal, but found nothing obvious. By tracing the signal, I mean that I've
connected my oscilloscope to the white/red wire just at the box and get a good
signal. It appears that the box is not seeing the signal internally. I've tested my
signal with another known-good car and see the same signal on both cars.

I would like to swap out the box with another as a test, hopefully gaining some
more insight.


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-21-2019, 03:04 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Vancouver, WA
Car: 750i
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I've done some more research about coding a new VIN and mileage to the new
SRS box using BMW Scanner 1.4 It doesn't look too difficult.
Can anyone verify, or have experience with, reprograming a swapped-out SRS box?

Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-27-2019, 12:06 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Burlington
Car: 328i
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Are you just trying to bypass a bad occupancy seat sensor so the airbag light goes off?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-27-2019, 05:27 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Vancouver, WA
Car: 750i
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes, the sensor in the seat is bad. I purchased one of those bypass dongles, but
the light is still on. As stated, I traced the signal all the way to the box using an
oscilloscope. So the box must be bad in some way--faulty occupancy sensor is
the only fault stored.

I need to know if I replace the box, do I need to reprogram the new box, and
how to do that.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems after DME/EWS swap xrated BMW coding and programming 0 08-17-2017 12:47 PM
BMW F10 Auto box swap help simmo490 BMW coding and programming 0 12-28-2015 03:30 PM
E39: Can I swap LCM II with LCM III bemwa BMW diagnostics and repair 10 09-09-2014 07:29 PM
2000 540iT 6 SP Swap Coding Question wisewendell BMW coding and programming 4 06-14-2014 07:03 PM
m52 swap nightmare ESB BMW diagnostics and repair 2 03-20-2012 02:23 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
BMW forum: diagnostics, coding, programming.