BMW ICOM NEXT | BMW NBT EVO FSC Codes | BMW NBT & CIC FSC Codes | BMW Rheingold , ISTA/P, KSD, ETK remote installation | BMW STANDARD TOOLS remote installation | BMW ESYS remote installation
Go Back   BMW forum. Diagnostics, coding, programming, repair BMW vehicles. > BMWelcome > BMW coding and programming

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-13-2018, 01:21 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Mesa, AZ
Car: Z4
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Z4 E85 Instrument Cluster Replacement - Coding/Programming Help!

I'm losing my mind here! Can someone tell me what I need to do to fix this issue:



This cluster is a replacement cluster that I purchased on eBay. The model number is different from my original cluster. I sent out the cluster, DME and EWS to a service on eBay and had the mileage adjusted and everything synced. There is no tamp dot, the car starts and gauges work. Everything is good to go, other than the fact that these lights stay illuminated.

When the syncing work was done, they told me I'd need to reprogram the cluster since the part numbers weren't the same. I didn't get to this right away because I was repainting the car and now that I'm ready to troubleshoot this issue, the guy isn't responding to me on eBay.

I need some help. Can anyone tell me how to code/program this cluster to get it fully functional in my car? I have INPA, WinKFP, NCS Expert, Progman and DIS all set up and communicating with the car properly, but I can't, for the life of me, figure out how to get this accomplished using the tools.

I'd be happy to kick someone $20 for a little info!


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-13-2018, 09:26 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: U.K.
Car: BMW M240
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Do you know how to use those programs you have installed?

If so the first thing I would do is interrogate fault memory in INPA

Possible depending on faults, I would try VO coding cluster in NCS

Then maybe use WinKFP to reflash.

However I would be worried myself that the unit itself may be goosed following EBAY specialist work 🤨
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-13-2018, 06:58 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Mesa, AZ
Car: Z4
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for your reply!

I would say, on a scale from 1-10, that my skill level with the software is a 2 or 3. I work in IT, so I'm picking it up quickly, but information regarding its functionality seems hard to find.

I used Progman to recode Kombi and it was successful. This resulted in the reset of the Kombi, losing the time and trip odometer settings, but didn't do anything in regard to resolving the dash lights. Coding the module must just code vehicle information to it, rather than write software, and I have a feeling that the issue here is a software version mismatch.

This makes me think that I probably need to flash with WinKFP, which I've used before to update my DME, but I don't see Kombi in Comfortmode and I'm not well versed enough in WinKFP to be able to use Expertmode properly without some instruction yet.

I was going to reset the module using NCS Expert, though I doubt it would have any success, because it seems like that's what Progman does while recoding. Unfortunately, NCS Expert is giving me a lot of errors in just selecting the chassis. When I follow instructions (F1, then F3, then select chassis), NCS errors out with a message about invalid FA function #0405, which I've come to find is a manufacture date, though it doesn't match the manufacture date of my car.

The cluster itself had these lights on before I sent it to the guy on eBay. He just adjusted the mileage for me and synced everything to remove the tamp dot (EWS, DME, cluster). He told me, at the time, that it might need to be reprogrammed to get rid of the lights. Everything works on the dash and the mileage is right, without the tamp light now, so I think he did his job properly.

I think what I really need is a tutorial on how to update Kombi properly using WinKFP. Could you possibly point me in the right direction?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-14-2018, 07:45 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: U.K.
Car: BMW M240
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Do you still have the original cluster? Why is it being replaced and can you still make comms with the original of you still have it?

The reason I ask is if you are going to flash it then you might want to know relevant zusb numbers etc.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-14-2018, 07:44 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Mesa, AZ
Car: Z4
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I do still have the original. Several years ago, I was trying to take my cluster apart, carelessly, to look into swapping the SMD LEDs for a different color. I say carelessly, because I tried to take the stepper motor apart for the fuel tank gauge and damaged it. I know, stupid decision, since it didn't even need to come off for what I was trying to do.

I do still have the original cluster and connected it last night. Everything still works great, other than the fuel gauge. One option that I'm seeing is to swap the stepper motor from the new cluster to the old, as my soldering skills have improved drastically over the past 7 years that I've owned this car. Of course, it would still be preferable to simply flash the new one, if I can. The old one has issues with dead pixels on the gear selection LCD, as well.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-15-2018, 07:16 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: U.K.
Car: BMW M240
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

If it was me, I would ID the zusb number from the original via INPA, then try to flash that to the replacement using winFkp.

Then use ncs to vo code on completion, then back to INPA and clear and recheck dtc’s
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
E36 M3 instrument cluster units jamrobin BMW GT1, OPS/OPPS, INPA 0 01-02-2018 05:01 AM
instrument cluster experts Taj786 BMW diagnostics and repair 8 08-06-2016 07:39 PM
E31 instrument cluster reprogramming gjh BMW coding and programming 0 09-23-2015 12:59 AM
e36 Instrument Cluster coding elmo0104 BMW GT1, OPS/OPPS, INPA 1 02-01-2014 07:50 PM
Repairing instrument cluster M6BrokeMe BMW diagnostics and repair 0 07-06-2011 12:32 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
BMW forum: diagnostics, coding, programming.