BMW ICOM NEXT | BMW NBT EVO FSC Codes | BMW NBT & CIC FSC Codes | BMW Rheingold , ISTA/P, KSD, ETK remote installation | BMW STANDARD TOOLS remote installation | BMW ESYS remote installation
Go Back   BMW forum. Diagnostics, coding, programming, repair BMW vehicles. > BMWelcome > BMW diagnostics and repair

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-20-2012, 05:28 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Germany
Car: BMW e92 335i
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default e92 335i - ECU/ DME MSD80 crashed :(

Hi guys,

I'm Marcel from Germany. Sorry for my English ^^ I hope u understand my problem.
i have a problem with my ECU. The ECU got some moisture damage and now I have misfirings in 3 cylinder.

Fault Code: 30BA - DME Internal Failure

My dealer wanna change the ECU. A new ECU cost 1000

Here is my question: Can i put a used ECU in my car? i know i must program the "new" used ECU. Can my dealer program the ECU? Can u tell me the name of the software to program a new ECU?

best regards, Marcel


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-21-2012, 01:54 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Germany
Car: BMW 330i N53
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hello Marcel,

there are quite many companies that repair control units in Germany, for example:


http://www.steuergerat.com/
http://www.hitzpaetz.de/
http://ecu.de/


Maybe you want to talk to them before exchanging parts on your car.

As far as I know you can't use the ECU of another car in yours, it gets linked to your car in the factory. Any way around this may exist, but I giess would be difficult. I doubt a normal BMW dealer would do it or have the knowledge necessary - they often even can't handle their daily business ;-)

Strinz
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-22-2012, 05:43 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Germany
Car: BMW e92 335i
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi,

I bought my ECU to a repair company last week. I hope for an result tomorrow.

Do you have more tips for me? If the repair fails?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-24-2012, 11:13 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Germany
Car: BMW e92 335i
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The repair fails :(

What can i do now?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-06-2012, 04:52 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Nigeria
Car: e71
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default fix is easy

its actually very simple to repair your DME,can you upload the pictures,clear pictures both side,after this you need a nec programmer/bdm programmer to complete repair,secondly u need a good spare DME donor.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-08-2012, 12:08 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: LUTON
Car: F10 520D and F10 M5
Posts: 48
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default ECU Repair

Hi

I dont think these ECUs have a BDM Port, I could be wrong but another company that I used recently to get a SL55AMG ecu repaired was
[Only for registered users... ]



I hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-06-2012, 12:49 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Birmingham
Car: BMW 540i
Posts: 21
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

^correct.
MSV70/MSS70 ecus were MPC5XX (motorola) and had BDM pads.
With BDM, you could copy all of the memories, and clone into a different ECU.

MSD80/81's are Tricore, you can read in boot mode (Tricore bootloaders) but I haven't heard of a way to fully clone one.

Last edited by TheEnd; 09-06-2012 at 12:57 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT. The time now is 06:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
BMW forum: diagnostics, coding, programming.