BMW ICOM NEXT | BMW NBT EVO FSC Codes | BMW NBT & CIC FSC Codes | BMW Rheingold , ISTA/P, KSD, ETK remote installation | BMW STANDARD TOOLS remote installation | BMW ESYS remote installation
Go Back   BMW forum. Diagnostics, coding, programming, repair BMW vehicles. > BMWelcome > BMW coding and programming > BMW GT1, OPS/OPPS, INPA

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-20-2017, 08:06 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Mars
Car: E46
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default INPA ignition and battery Always ON???????真真真

Hi guys,
im trying to diagnose my fathers e46 1999, But when i turn on INPA it shows that battery and ignition is already on, even if haven't turned on the ignition or even pluged the obd end of cable to the car!!!
If i start INPA without USB connected the dots are white, i plug in the cable both dots still white.

Maybe i should start the car while the both dots are black? Or could this fry something??

Also:
Should i be able to get ANY dignostic info while the car is off?? Because if i try to enter e46 engine diagnostics while i have only turned on the ignition it throws up IFH-0006 and IFH-0009 error.

I have tried 3 inpa versions from which 2 were ment for my Win10 64bit OS. I also ran 32 bit version in VirtualBox. All three had identic results.
.

My drivers, registry values and usb COM settings are edited as specified in tutorials. I tried different drivers, different COM setup all of which had same results.
I've ran OBDsetup.exe everythings OK. I've ran Dcan.exe before running INPA and have setup my adapter as K-Line which gave no effect.
I've checked pins 7 and 8 are connected when switched in K-line mode.

Maybe my cable doesnt have ignition sensing?

Also ive checked my cable with Tera Term and i'ts working.

Last edited by wat?; 09-20-2017 at 11:20 PM.


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-20-2017, 08:11 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Mars
Car: E46
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have this cable. (with the switch and green chip and the chip is genuine FTDI i checked)


I also have this available (is this combo better?)

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-20-2017, 08:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Darwin
Car: Mini Cooper S R53
Posts: 45
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Do you have a laptop with Win XP sitting around? I suggest you install the INPA suit on an fresh XP - and INPA 5.02 no later.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-20-2017, 08:56 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Mars
Car: E46
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TsiliR53 View Post
Do you have a laptop with Win XP sitting around? I suggest you install the INPA suit on an fresh XP - and INPA 5.02 no later.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Sadly i have only one computer at my disposal. (HP laptop)

But i've tried 5.02 on XP 32 bit virtual machine, also while disabling COM ports on my primary OS.
And this had the same exact results.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-20-2017, 09:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Darwin
Car: Mini Cooper S R53
Posts: 45
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Even in a VM you have the cable drivers in you Win10 system.

I'd suggest you upgrade INPA to F series.

As for the cable - it's common that the FT232 chip is a clone, more common if you pay $20 for the cable.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-20-2017, 09:25 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Mars
Car: E46
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TsiliR53 View Post
Even in a VM you have the cable drivers in you Win10 system.

I'd suggest you upgrade INPA to F series.

As for the cable - it's common that the FT232 chip is a clone, more common if you pay $20 for the cable.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
You mean like 5.0.6 ?
Also Hardware id in device manager says FTDIBUS\COMPORT&VID_0403&PID_6001 which should mean that the chip is genuine. And when i ripped it apart it also said FTDI on the chip.

Last edited by wat?; 09-20-2017 at 09:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-20-2017, 09:59 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Mars
Car: E46
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yep judging by all evidence the thing is not bricked.

Shouldn't Edibas server or something like that start automatically running when i open INPA?

And here's what im running. I checked it's 5.0.6

Last edited by wat?; 09-20-2017 at 11:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-21-2017, 09:44 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Mars
Car: E46
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Is there a way to manually launch Ediabas server?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-22-2017, 11:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Darwin
Car: Mini Cooper S R53
Posts: 45
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

The server should run auto-magically when you open INPA - 5.0.6 sweet.

What's the it system script say?

I've got a version on INPA that will not detect battery until ignition is on as well. Not worried as it still talks to the dmes.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-23-2017, 12:01 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Darwin
Car: Mini Cooper S R53
Posts: 45
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wat? View Post
Yep judging by all evidence the thing is not bricked.

Shouldn't Edibas server or something like that start automatically running when i open INPA?

And here's what im running. I checked it's 5.0.6


Will have a look at INPA today at some stage to see - are you running win10 or a VM?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dell latitude and INPA, battery and ignition not reading. Davztyr BMW GT1, OPS/OPPS, INPA 1 06-02-2017 04:05 PM
Which software to diagnose ignition coils? MOTRSPRT BMW diagnostics and repair 0 03-10-2016 04:16 PM
No ignition/battery in INPA weegaz22 BMW diagnostics and repair 4 11-09-2015 01:40 PM
new battery livaditisd BMW coding and programming 0 05-09-2015 10:40 PM
[E46] Safe to code with ignition position 1 (ACC)? userix BMW coding and programming 0 09-19-2013 06:04 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
BMW forum: diagnostics, coding, programming.