BMW ICOM NEXT | BMW NBT EVO FSC Codes | BMW NBT & CIC FSC Codes | BMW Rheingold , ISTA/P, KSD, ETK remote installation | BMW STANDARD TOOLS remote installation | BMW ESYS remote installation
Go Back   BMW forum. Diagnostics, coding, programming, repair BMW vehicles. > BMWelcome > BMW coding and programming > BMW GT1, OPS/OPPS, INPA

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-06-2011, 11:35 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: UK
Car: 328i
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
Default Setting up inpa for ads

Hello Guys,

I need to diagnose my ABS module on my e36 328i 1998 and I realised that I will need an ADS interface thus i bought it. The problem I am facing is whenever i start inpa it crashes because i changed the std:obd to std:ads in c:\EDIABAS\bin\EDIABAS and c:\EDIABAS\bin\obd

my question is, is that all i need to do to tell the software to run using ads ?

secondly, My laptop does not have a com port, so i have a pcmcia and usb to serial com port. after researching i realized that usb won't work with serial ads and pcmcia may work if a resource tab can be seen on the driver page.

I can not see the resource tab on my pcmcia and the windows recognised it as usb to serial although it is a pcmcia. so what pcmcia with what chipset should i buy to make it work with ads ?

thanks for all of ur helps


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-07-2011, 07:06 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Russia
Car: BMW
Posts: 94
Thanks: 0
Thanked 20 Times in 19 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by linux44 View Post
Hello Guys,

I need to diagnose my ABS module on my e36 328i 1998 and I realised that I will need an ADS interface thus i bought it. The problem I am facing is whenever i start inpa it crashes because i changed the std:obd to std:ads in c:\EDIABAS\bin\EDIABAS and c:\EDIABAS\bin\obd

my question is, is that all i need to do to tell the software to run using ads ?

secondly, My laptop does not have a com port, so i have a pcmcia and usb to serial com port. after researching i realized that usb won't work with serial ads and pcmcia may work if a resource tab can be seen on the driver page.

I can not see the resource tab on my pcmcia and the windows recognised it as usb to serial although it is a pcmcia. so what pcmcia with what chipset should i buy to make it work with ads ?

thanks for all of ur helps
Your mistake is that you set up std:ads. Where are no such interface in ediabas. Only ADS, just try to read documetation.;)
For ADS you need hardware COM-port, not emulator. Try to find it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-16-2011, 02:38 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: PL
Car: BMW
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

What PCMCIA adapter do you use?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT. The time now is 12:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
BMW forum: diagnostics, coding, programming.