BMW ICOM NEXT | BMW NBT EVO FSC Codes | BMW NBT & CIC FSC Codes | BMW Rheingold , ISTA/P, KSD, ETK remote installation | BMW STANDARD TOOLS remote installation | BMW ESYS remote installation
Go Back   BMW forum. Diagnostics, coding, programming, repair BMW vehicles. > BMWelcome > BMW coding and programming > BMW GT1, OPS/OPPS, INPA

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-26-2013, 05:28 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: warrington
Car: e46 300d touring
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Use of OPPS interface with E90/91

I have been successfully using SSS Progman and DIS with my e46. I have coded modules when I have replaced them with new ones to fix a problem etc.

I now have an e91 and I am thinking about buying the big orange/yellow optical interface called OPPS.

I have a couple of questions that I was hoping I could get some advice on:
1). where is the optical MOST port? I was told it was behind the glove box, but I can't see it.
2). Is there any other way to code using SSS without the OPPS interface. I am not too keen on using NCS, and would rather stick with SSS, so I think I need the OPPS box.

Basically, I would like to know what is the best way to access all the features of SSS and DIS with my new e91 car. I would rather go with these pieces of software, but if there are other hardware/software solutions, it would be great if you could advise me what they are.


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-26-2013, 09:02 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: warrington
Car: e46 300d touring
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

OK, I have found the port its a square cover in the passenger footwell. So the question is should I buy the OPPS or OPS interface. I can get an OPPS from China for around 300, and the OPS is less. If anyone knows of anything better, then please let me know.
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-05-2013, 03:39 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Stephens City Virginia
Car: Z4M
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Don't waste your money on an OPPS

I had the same issue. I have a GT1 with SSS and DIS. I worked great in my E46 and E85. I bought an E90 and wanted to do some programming on it. So I bought an OPPS unit... The OPPS unit worked fine for DIS but not SSS. SSS is only good for cars made before Sept 2008 and if your car has been updated by the dealer with newer software, it will not recognize the car. I ended up using NCS and it works great.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-05-2013, 07:47 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: New York
Car: 2007 335
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Get the icom a+B+C. It will have every interface connection needed to connect
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-20-2013, 09:07 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: warrington
Car: e46 300d touring
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cn555ic View Post
Get the icom a+B+C. It will have every interface connection needed to connect
I bought the ICOM A B and C, and the diagnosis is excellent. I have a problem with the programming though. It seems it is not connecting to the car, and one of the lights does not illuminate on the MOST interface. I have sent it back to the supplier to see if they can find the issue.

Before I did that though, I ran the ISTA -P and it flags loads of things in orange, and a couple in red that it says need replacing. It seems that I would have to execute those measures before it will allow me to code anything else.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-21-2013, 03:11 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Taiwan
Car: e90 330i
Posts: 20
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

There are some tricks.you can do for red dot in measure plan.If you dont want to replace it. for example.you can remove vo or disable it.then ista/p wont detect these ecus.and process
programming,coding. after finished update. you can put it back.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-22-2013, 09:24 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: warrington
Car: e46 300d touring
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yushow5069 View Post
There are some tricks.you can do for red dot in measure plan.If you dont want to replace it. for example.you can remove vo or disable it.then ista/p wont detect these ecus.and process
programming,coding. after finished update. you can put it back.
Thanks for letting me know this trick. As it turns out, I have done some more research, and it looks like the Telematics control unit might have failed because 2 of the media related items say they need replacing. They both work fine, so BMW are going to change the TCU under warranty. I am also unable to programme the car at all, as it says it is not connected to the MOST port. BMW agree with me that it is likely the TCU.
I might need your trick in the future though, so thanks!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dis, opps, sss

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
E60 Fail coding with OPPS Nxter BMW GT1, OPS/OPPS, INPA 0 05-25-2013 12:22 PM
ads interface E46 analogue BMW diagnostics and repair 2 02-19-2013 02:27 PM
OPPS IP Error alibo70 BMW GT1, OPS/OPPS, INPA 0 04-16-2012 05:21 AM
Bmw opps dis v57 sss v39 edward008 BMW diagnostics and repair 4 02-14-2012 06:19 AM
Interface Sleuth BMW diagnostics and repair 0 03-26-2011 11:41 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
BMW forum: diagnostics, coding, programming.