BMW ICOM NEXT | BMW NBT EVO FSC Codes | BMW NBT & CIC FSC Codes | BMW Rheingold , ISTA/P, KSD, ETK remote installation | BMW STANDARD TOOLS remote installation | BMW ESYS remote installation
Go Back   BMW forum. Diagnostics, coding, programming, repair BMW vehicles. > BMWelcome > BMW coding and programming > BMW ISIS, ICOM A+B+C, Esys

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-02-2015, 05:02 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Vancouver,Canada
Car: 2009 X5 35D
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ISTA-P and ICOM battery Voltage calibration.

Hello friends, I have a question about battery voltage while using ISTA-P.I know its necessary to put external power supply while doing coding/programming.I have a modded server power supply which outputs 13.2V-80 Amps.When i connected ISTA-P to my E70 using ICOM with external power supply connected,both kl15 and 30 shows 12.9~13 volts and ISTA-P threshold is min 13V.Then i physically checked voltage at the charging terminal in the engine compartment with fluke multi-meter,it reads 13.2 volts.But my ICOM reads 13Volts.Means ICOM is reading .2 volts less than the actual battery voltage at the charging terminal.I know my Fluke multi-meter is quite precise.Any way to calibrate the icom?Ista-P ends the session because it senses voltage lower than 13V.Any suggestions please?Thanks


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-10-2017, 10:29 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Austria
Car: E85 E87
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

If your power supply outputs 13.2V there is noway that 13.2V also come in to the care through the long cable run, there is voltage drop involved in this, so ICOM is correct measuring the voltage at the target.

I need to supply 14.2V in order to get 13.8V at the car.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-10-2017, 10:46 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Vancouver,Canada
Car: 2009 X5 35D
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by starcat View Post
If your power supply outputs 13.2V there is noway that 13.2V also come in to the care through the long cable run, there is voltage drop involved in this, so ICOM is correct measuring the voltage at the target.

I need to supply 14.2V in order to get 13.8V at the car.
I solved the problem by doing 2,things.First I exchanged my Icom with a wireless card.So the newer one displays the same reading as my fluke at the charge terminal.
Second I changed my power supply with the one that outputs 14.2v 100Amps and used thick 00 size welding cable to connect power supply to the car.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ICOM voltage issue mii BMW ISIS, ICOM A+B+C, Esys 13 03-08-2017 11:19 AM
Problem with ICOM 1 and ISTA-D 3.49 / future2k1 BMW ISIS, ICOM A+B+C, Esys 0 07-13-2015 08:50 PM
ISTA/P voltage problem Kv8 BMW ISIS, ICOM A+B+C, Esys 1 09-29-2014 08:04 AM
Need Help! ISTA/ D ICOM ivangoh75 BMW diagnostics and repair 1 07-30-2013 06:18 AM
Calibration Kit Files chli1976 Off-topic 0 10-16-2012 10:48 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
BMW forum: diagnostics, coding, programming.