BMW ICOM NEXT | BMW NBT EVO FSC Codes | BMW NBT & CIC FSC Codes | BMW Rheingold , ISTA/P, KSD, ETK remote installation | BMW STANDARD TOOLS remote installation | BMW ESYS remote installation
Go Back   BMW forum. Diagnostics, coding, programming, repair BMW vehicles. > BMWelcome > BMW Programmers

Like Tree4Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 07-20-2014, 10:41 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Australia
Car: 318ti
Posts: 30
Thanks: 1
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Have you inverted DSR RTS as per the cars ?, there is a procedure on bimmerforums for it, you use FTDI MProg or it's replacement

Also be aware that software can look either in the VCI such as ICOM or the ECU for the Kl15 or kl30 signals, this can be individual model script dependent
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 07-21-2014, 11:18 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Car: 650Ci
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Wayne.
Thanks for the reply. I have been reading your various posts and appreciate the information on your website.

I tried inverting the signal with fprog but but it produced an error on read and parse. It may be the cable does not have the ftdi chip - it has no markings on it. It looks like a modded vag cable.


I will get another ftdi based cable and try again.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 07-22-2014, 01:10 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Australia
Car: 318ti
Posts: 30
Thanks: 1
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

I have both K+DCAN and VAG-409 Cables and get the same with both, you can try turning Kl15 or kl30 detection off in EDIABAS but dont think it will change it

You cn also check which FTDI chip is in the cable you have to cross check but it appears to come from the way the ECU script file is written
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 07-22-2014, 02:30 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Car: 650Ci
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I tried the ediabas settings but nothing.


The bike ecu displays the correct voltages when they are queried via the ecu diagnostics The error i get is when trying to clear adaptations or when calibrating e.g the exhaust flap.

Run exhaust calibration. System checks for communications and then reports "system voltage is below 12v. Please connect charger ".... I have the charger connected.
The transaction xml file has no voltage listed for Kl15 and kl30, just hyphens, as per screen.

Last edited by zulfib; 07-22-2014 at 02:37 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 07-22-2014, 02:50 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Australia
Car: 318ti
Posts: 30
Thanks: 1
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

That would confirm the script is getting the values from ICOM not the ECU, crazy situation as even the 650GS has the routines in the ECU, I would expect newer updated ECU script files will resolve it in line with the reduction of code in the newer ICOM firmware, when BMW release them though well your guess is as good as mine
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 07-22-2014, 03:27 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Car: 650Ci
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

So the only way is to get an icom / icom clone?
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 07-22-2014, 03:30 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Australia
Car: 318ti
Posts: 30
Thanks: 1
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Yes it would seem so, the clones are coming down in price and the earlier ones I suspect are being dumped in the market due the ICOMA2, originals are far too many $
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 08-09-2014, 03:56 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: California
Car: X5
Posts: 34
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WayneC View Post
Yes it would seem so, the clones are coming down in price and the earlier ones I suspect are being dumped in the market due the ICOMA2, originals are far too many $
Yes, the original costs thousands, the clone less than $400
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 08-12-2014, 02:20 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: California
Car: X5
Posts: 34
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zulfib View Post
So the only way is to get an icom / icom clone?
Not only an icom a+b+c, but also icom d cable. It is the icom d cable that supports bmw motor.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 09-11-2014, 08:32 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: RM
Car: BMW E39 M5
Posts: 28
Thanks: 9
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have installed Rheingold and connected to my car - seems to read erase errors just fine (E39 car). I am planning to connect my S1000RR to the same software using the same basic USB-OBDII cable and a cheap adapter.

Is this what everybody in this thread are doing? (sorry, but you guys did not mention what software you are using in your trials)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIS/GT1 and INPA for BMW motorcycles? HansV BMW coding and programming 0 03-05-2012 08:50 AM
GS-911 Emergency Diagnostic tool for BMW motorcycles autodiagnosticobd2 Off-topic 0 11-02-2011 02:53 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
BMW forum: diagnostics, coding, programming.