BMW ICOM NEXT | BMW NBT EVO FSC Codes | BMW NBT & CIC FSC Codes | BMW Rheingold , ISTA/P, KSD, ETK remote installation | BMW STANDARD TOOLS remote installation | BMW ESYS remote installation
Go Back   BMW forum. Diagnostics, coding, programming, repair BMW vehicles. > BMWelcome > DIY guides

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-15-2014, 02:41 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Sweden
Car: Z4 s23i
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default BMW dealer cannot update my E89 -09

Hi all!

I'm new to this forum and a fairly new owner of a 2009 Z4 s23i.
Although I'm happy with the car I would like to update the software to get further compatibility with my iPhone and possible future updates via USB.

I left the car at my BMW dealer and they called me back in a few hours. Apparently, according to them, my car does not have an interface to access the fiber network, but their software update computer told them to plug in that connector.

Now they tell me that my car have been upgraded some time along the way to the new iDrive system that should have a connector. I have a really though time imaging that someone have been able to pay and get someone to do a complete i-drive system upgrade?

My guess is that they have done something wrong, like trying to upgrade with a software for a newer car, or something like that.

Could anyone of you experts help me out?

VIN: E347559



Edit: Oh! It seemes that I've posted in the wrong area. Sorry about that.

Last edited by SweNilsson; 01-15-2014 at 02:44 PM.


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-17-2014, 01:32 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: UK of England
Car: 740i
Posts: 23
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SweNilsson View Post
Hi all!

I'm new to this forum and a fairly new owner of a 2009 Z4 s23i.
Although I'm happy with the car I would like to update the software to get further compatibility with my iPhone and possible future updates via USB.

I left the car at my BMW dealer and they called me back in a few hours. Apparently, according to them, my car does not have an interface to access the fiber network, but their software update computer told them to plug in that connector.

Now they tell me that my car have been upgraded some time along the way to the new iDrive system that should have a connector. I have a really though time imaging that someone have been able to pay and get someone to do a complete i-drive system upgrade?

My guess is that they have done something wrong, like trying to upgrade with a software for a newer car, or something like that.

Could anyone of you experts help me out?

VIN: E347559



Edit: Oh! It seemes that I've posted in the wrong area. Sorry about that.
Dealers can not patch a car that has non standard equipment. If your car has the cic but did have ccc from factory you are screwed. Normally there is an advanced option in Ista/p to bypass a specific module but I never used it and don't have any more details.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-18-2014, 10:39 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Sweden
Car: Z4 s23i
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks! But sincethe car is ordered and built with the nav pro option and i-drive, is'nt it the cic version then? I cant believe someone has rebuilt from one nav pro to another.

Just upgraded mu maps today from 2008 to 2014. Worked great!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-19-2014, 10:37 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Germany
Car: BMW 550i F10
Posts: 109
Thanks: 1
Thanked 20 Times in 15 Posts
Default

so what kind of nav do you have? CCC with map data on DVD or CIC with map data on HDD?

But in either way you should have an optical interface connector!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-23-2014, 05:26 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Sweden
Car: Z4 s23i
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have hdd. Was both versions available for E89?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-25-2014, 06:30 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Horse Country
Car: 328d
Posts: 4
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I think they just did not find it as it is located behind the triangular trim on the dash next to the A-pillar - accessible with the door open.


Quote:
Originally Posted by SweNilsson View Post
Hi all!

I'm new to this forum and a fairly new owner of a 2009 Z4 s23i.
Although I'm happy with the car I would like to update the software to get further compatibility with my iPhone and possible future updates via USB.

I left the car at my BMW dealer and they called me back in a few hours. Apparently, according to them, my car does not have an interface to access the fiber network, but their software update computer told them to plug in that connector.

Now they tell me that my car have been upgraded some time along the way to the new iDrive system that should have a connector. I have a really though time imaging that someone have been able to pay and get someone to do a complete i-drive system upgrade?

My guess is that they have done something wrong, like trying to upgrade with a software for a newer car, or something like that.

Could anyone of you experts help me out?

VIN: E347559



Edit: Oh! It seemes that I've posted in the wrong area. Sorry about that.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-26-2014, 02:51 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Sweden
Car: Z4 s23i
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Unfortunately I have looked behind that panel today and can confirm that there are no connector.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-07-2014, 03:42 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: italy
Car: e91
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

They have to add #EMOA to your vo.. It's an option you can add with ista-p..
Can't belive that a dealer don't know such a thing..
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-30-2014, 05:52 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: West Mids
Car: E82 125i
Posts: 4
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi korbe I know this is an old post and I have the same problem I have ista p and icom can you please xplain how to add "#EMOA" to the vehicle order using ista p. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-04-2014, 10:54 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Europe
Car: E90
Posts: 44
Thanks: 1
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by diaghead View Post
Hi korbe I know this is an old post and I have the same problem I have ista p and icom can you please xplain how to add "#EMOA" to the vehicle order using ista p. Thanks
Not sure if you can do this with ista-p. (check the tabs when identification is finished)
I know for sure that ista-p can remove it.
The easiest way is to add it with ncsexpert.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
E46 Radio SW Update csbalu DIY guides 1 12-10-2014 12:20 PM
E93 Manual-Dealer Manual rob@theheadchef.com New Members Area 0 10-10-2013 09:45 AM
version update bachirnassif BMW ISIS, ICOM A+B+C, Esys 2 09-28-2013 09:33 AM
CIC Update mcrussell BMW GT1, OPS/OPPS, INPA 14 09-16-2013 08:06 AM
DDE Update E46 330d stredere BMW diagnostics and repair 0 04-27-2013 11:14 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
BMW forum: diagnostics, coding, programming.